Welcome to WEBEAS

Workshop of Experimental and Behavioral Economics of the Americas

This online workshop series is a joint effort of economics faculty at Carleton University (Canada), George Mason University (US), Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México-ITAM (México), University of California Santa Cruz (US), Universidad del Pacífico (Perú) and Universidad del Rosario (Colombia).

To receive the Zoom links to WEBEAS, join our mailing list by registering here!

Organizing Committee

  • Radovan Vadovič (Carleton University, Canada)

  • Cesar Martinelli (George Mason University, US)

  • Andrei Gomberg (Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México - ITAM, Mexico)

  • Kristian Lopez Vargas (University of California, Santa Cruz, US)

  • Francisco Galarza (Universidad del Pacífico, Perú)

  • Mariana Blanco and Stanislao Maldonado (Universidad del Rosario, Colombia)

Upcoming Seminars

  • Tuesday October 4, 2022 at 1:00 pm ET (10:00 am PT)

Timothy Cason (Purdue University)

Title: "Contingent Reasoning and Dynamic Public Goods Provision” (joint work with Evan Calford)

Past Seminars

  • Tuesday September 20 2022 at 1:00 pm ET (10:00 am PT)

Marina Agranov (California Institute of Technology)

Title: "Information Aggregation on Networks: an Experimental Study" (joint work with Ben Gillen and Dotan Persitz)

  • Tuesday August 31 at 1 pm EST (10 am California - 12 pm Bogota-Lima-Mexico D.F. - 1 pm DC)

Daniel Friedman (University of California, Santa Cruz and University of Essex)

Title:“Market mysteries, old, and new”

  • Tuesday September 14 at 1 pm EST (10 am California - 12 pm Bogota-Lima-Mexico D.F. - 1 pm DC)

Johanna Mollerstrom (George Mason University)

Title:"Your place in the world: Relative income and global inequality"

  • Tuesday September 28 at 1 pm EST (10 am California - 12 pm Bogota-Lima-Mexico D.F. - 1 pm DC)

Hernan Bejarano (Centro de Investigacion y Docencia Economica)

Title:"When the rich do (not) trust the (newly) rich: Experimental evidence on the effects of positive random shocks in the trust game"

  • Tuesday October 12 at 1 pm EST (10 am California - 12 pm Bogota-Lima-Mexico D.F. - 1 pm DC)

Santiago Sautua (Universidad del Rosario)

Title:“Emotional influence on information processing in decisions under uncertainty”

  • Tuesday October 26 at 1 pm EST (10 am California - 12 pm Bogota-Lima-Mexico D.F. - 1 pm DC)

Agne Kajackaite (WZB Berlin Social Science Center)

Title:Breaking bad: Misfunctioning institutions erode good behavior

  • Tuesday November 9 at 1 pm EST (10 am California - 12 pm Bogota-Lima-Mexico D.F. - 1 pm DC)

Yue Deng (George Mason University)

Title:The Opioid Crisis and Secondary Markets: Evidence from a Laboratory Experiment

  • Tuesday November 23 at 1 pm EST (10 am California - 12 pm Bogota-Lima-Mexico D.F. - 1 pm DC)

Kristian López Vargas (University of California, Santa Cruz)

Title:Disentangling Risk Attitudes and Other-Regarding Preferences: Theory and Experiment” (Joint with Paul Feldman)

  • Tuesday December 7 at 1 pm EST (10 am California - 12 pm Bogota-Lima-Mexico D.F. - 1 pm DC)

Mariana Blanco (Universidad del Rosario)

Title:“How to make a criminal” (Joint with Dan Houser)

  • Tuesday January 18 2022 at 11:30 am EST (8:30 am PST; 11:30 am Bogota, Lima, 10:30 am Mexico D.F)

Mikhail Freer (University of Essex)

Title:Collective Deliberation: Theory and Experiment(jointly with Edgar Castro and César Martinelli)

  • Tuesday February 1 2022 at 11:30 am EST (8:30 am PST; 11:30 am Bogota, Lima, 10:30 am Mexico D.F)

Lucas A. Rentschler (Utah State University)

Title:“Economics of Policing Incentives and Criminal Justice”

  • Tuesday March 1 2022 at 11:30 am EST (8:30 am PST; 11:30 am Bogota, Lima, 10:30 am Mexico D.F)

John Wooders (NYU Abu Dhabi)

Title: “Expertise, Gender, and Equilibrium Play” (joint work with Romain Gauriot and Lionel Page).

  • Tuesday March 15 2022 at 11:30 am EST (8:30 am PST; 11:30 am Bogota, Lima, 10:30 am Mexico D.F)

Axel Ockenfels (University of Cologne, Germany)

Title: "Why is the soft reserve auction so popular?"

  • Tuesday March 29 2022 at 11:30 am ET (8:30 am PT)

Julia Seither (JILAEE & University of Rosario)

Title: "The Economics of Women’s Entrepreneurship" (joint work with Megan Lang)

  • Tuesday April 12 2022 at 11:30 am ET (8:30 am PT)

Paul Feldman (Johns Hopkins University)

Title: "A Certainty Effect for Preference Reversals Under Risk: Experiment and Theory" (joint work with Paul J. Ferraro)

Contact

If you have any questions or suggestions, please email us at rebel@urosario.edu.co

Sponsors